4 Hour private luxury Experience of Tangier
Recommended by 96% of travelers
Badge of Excellence
Tangier, Morocco
- 4 to 5 hours (approx.)
- Pickup offered
- Mobile ticket
- Offered in: English
Why travelers loved this
·
Explore our promoted experiences
Overview
Enjoy a customized private tour in Tangier. Beginning at Hercules Cave, explore the Phoenician and Berber history of this site of archaeological significance. At Cape Sparkle, witness stunning views where the Mediterranean meets the Atlantic Ocean. Our local guide will ensure you get the best deals at the souk market on your souvenirs.
- Beat the crowds with admission to sites included
- Make the most of photo opportunities at the Cape Sparkle Lighthouse
- Learn about the best places and deals from an expert local guide
- Stroller accessible vehicle, with infant seats also available
What's Included
- Private transportation
- Air-conditioned vehicle
- WiFi on board
- Coffee and/or Tea
- Bottled water
- Private tour guide
- Camels ride on the beach
- Port pick up and drop off
- Hotel pick up and drop off
- Lunch
Meeting and Pickup
You can head directly to the meeting point, or request pickup
Itinerary
1
Villa Perdicaris
15 minutes • Admission Ticket Included
2
Cap Spartel
25 minutes • Admission Ticket Included
3
Achakkar Beach
30 minutes • Admission Ticket Free
4
Caves of Hercules
30 minutes • Admission Ticket Not Included
5
Tangier Casbah
1 hour • Admission Ticket Included
6
Moshe Nahon Synagogue
20 minutes • Admission Ticket Included
7
Place du Grand 9 Avril 1947
1 hour • Admission Ticket Included
8
Tanger-Médina
40 minutes • Admission Ticket Free
Additional Info
- Confirmation will be received at time of booking
- Wheelchair accessible
- Stroller accessible
- Service animals allowed
- Near public transportation
- Infant seats available
- Transportation is wheelchair accessible
- Most travelers can participate
- This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
Supplied by
Cancellation Policy
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
Traveler Photos





Reviews
4.9
based on 428 reviews
Sort by: Most recent
Our tour company had a difficult circumstance with our ship being scheduled for Tangier at the last minute, but our Private Tour had 16 people, which I would classify as a small group tour. Our tour guide left the port without us, minutes after I spoke to the owner and he sent a photo of where to find the guide. I asked another tour guide about him and he called our guide to come back and get us. We had to sit in the last row of the van and had obstructed views and could not really see out the windows as we were driving around with our guide explaining what we were supposed to be seeing. Then we had to stand for 30 minutes in the sun on a beach to wait for our 10 minute camel ride. Also, we could not walk around the Kasbah because of a movie being filmed, so we missed out on doing that, which was part of our itinerary. In Medina, we sat in an argon oil and spice shop for almost 30 minutes and listened to the owner pitch his products while our guide went to find two people from our group who went missing. At this point, we stopped in one craft store and then went to lunch. The tour owner did buy our group lunch, but I do not feel that is adequate considering all that went wrong with the tour. While some was out of their control, this tour did not meet our expectations for what we had booked. After we returned, I immediately messaged the tour owner and asked if he would provide a partial refund as recognition that this was not up to his standard of a 4.9 rated tour. He never responded. So I wrote a review.
This was an unfortunate experience. When our ship changed ports from Gibraltar to Tangier, I immediately booked a private van tour IN ENGLISH for four of us. Reservation was confirmed and paid for. From that point on, Nabil, the tour operator did everything he could to switch us to a bus tour -- not at all what we wanted or had been promised. In the end we ended up with a taxi and a nice, non-English-speaking driver for four hours, including dropping us off at the Casbah, which was blocked for the filming of a movie, without an escort. Result -- we saw very little. It was certainly not worth the amount we paid for a 'private tour in English.' In my opinion, the tour operator should be barred from Viator. I intend to dispute the charge with Amex for not having gotten the service I paid for.
Response from Host, Oct 2026
Hello!
You asked for private and i brought You tourism van not taxi you say the truth
Abdhul was wonderful. He showed us the beautiful Morocco he loves, was very helpful with my older parents, and adjusted our tour to their capabilities. It was a wonderful experience!
It was a great private tour for the 10 of us which felt safe in an unfamiliar country and good transportation. He spent an extra hour with us which was generous. The van was a comfortable ride. And riding the camels on the beach were much more fun than I expected! He took us to a really great restaurant for a family style lunch which was well worth the €20 per person. He asked if he could make it a small group tour which we declined and we were super happy that he obliged us.
Mostly, even though our guide was super friendly and sweet, I wish he gave us more history instead of just telling us where we were and one morsel of information about it. We didn’t make it to all the stops on the itinerary due to time constraints which was fine. All around, it was a really great day!
They changed us to a group tour because of scheduling issues. We were 17. On the positive side, they appeared organized and were prompt. Because of their problems our guide (Abdul, coke cola) was not very good. While he got us everywhere we were supposed to go, he provided very little information about anything . We had to goggle all our questions. That was unfortunate. The lunch provided was delicious and appreciated. I think we just got the short end of their guide supply.
The meeting point was the most organized viatour experience that we have had during this trip. I even received a picture of the person with exact signage I was looking for prior to leaving my cruise ship! The small bus was comfortable and air conditioned. Abdul, our guide was very knowledgeable about the area and filled us in on history and current developments of Tangier. He skillfully lead us on the most direct paths to the sights. The crowds did get heavy in some of the more touristy places and Abdul kept us together and brought us to specific shops that we wanted to see and helped us get better deals.
The camel riding and Medina experience were the highlights for us. The Medina was crowded with narrow winding avenues that would be hard to navigate by yourself. Definitely recommend having a guide.
Minimal history and local information. Did not seem like a “luxury “ experience. Camel ride was fun. Directed towards vendors of their choice.
Response from Host, Oct 2026
I'm glad you enjoyed the camel ride
We booked a private tour of Tangier for two people months in advance, specifically because we wanted a more personal experience rather than a large group tour. Unfortunately, that is not what we received.
A day or two before the tour, we were informed that a “family” had been added. What we discovered was not a family, but a separate group of several people. Our private tour had effectively become a midsized group bus tour—the very thing we had deliberately paid extra to avoid. We were caught off guard and, since the group seemed friendly, we didn’t complain at the time. Nevertheless, we immediately felt like outsiders on a tour that was supposed to be designed for us.
The drive toward the camel ride was scenic, but very little history or information was shared by the guide, Chop Chop—or at least nothing we could hear from the back of the bus. His attention seemed focused primarily on the newly added group. The camel ride itself was enjoyable, but we later learned from other participants that it cost just €15 per person, raising further questions about the value we were receiving.
Our visit to the Caves of Hercules was similarly disappointing. There was virtually no historical context, explanation, or meaningful commentary to help us appreciate the site.
Lunch was the final straw. We were expected to eat family-style with nine strangers, something we had neither requested nor anticipated when booking a private tour. The portions of bread, condiments, and extras were inadequate for the number of people sharing them, and even the salt and pepper were being passed around the entire group. To make matters worse, while sitting beside a gentleman from the other group, we discovered that he had paid **$25 less per person than we had**.
By this point, we were thoroughly disappointed and decided to leave the tour. Chop Chop initially allowed us to go but then argued with us over the €20 lunch charge for a meal that had been such a letdown. Given the substantial amount we had paid for what was advertised as a private tour, we felt this charge was unreasonable. After some back-and-forth, he finally agreed to let us leave without paying it.
We were told we would be taken to a safe spot in the Tangier market. Instead, we were brought to an argan oil vendor, which felt like an inappropriate and possibly commercially motivated detour rather than the assistance we had been promised.
We requested a partial refund, but that request was denied.
Ultimately, this experience left us feeling misled, undervalued, and deeply disappointed. We paid for a private tour and received a group experience with minimal historical commentary, a disappointing lunch, and an ending that further eroded our trust. Tangier has so much history and culture to offer, but this tour did very little to help us experience it.
**I would not recommend this tour to anyone specifically seeking a private, personalized experience.** If you are paying a premium for a private tour, make sure you confirm in writing that your booking will remain exclusively private and clarify exactly what is included before you go. Sadly, what was meant to be a memorable highlight of our visit to Tangier became one of its
We were greeted by a friendly face holding a sign with my name on it. The van was very comfortable. We were taken to all of the highlights of Tangier, our driver drove very safely. We really enjoyed our day.
Fantastic afternoon with Chop Chop. Great introduction to Tangier. Comfortable pace — never felt rushed. Chop Chop showed us his favorite places in the Kasbah and Medina and was a fount of useful and interesting information. We really enjoyed this guided tour. Highly recommended!
Chop chop was a great tour guide. The group voted, so we didn’t eat lunch, but he bought us a couple tourist trinkets we were looking at and paid for a monkey picture at Hercules Cave. Great tour! Lots of time. 👍🏻🐒😊
It was a well planned tour, we saw everything we wanted and it was well timed. Our guide was amazing; the best!
Response from Host, Sept 2026
Thank you so much I'm very happy that you enjoyed
This tour was excellent and our driver was great. Private tour is the way to go in Tangiers as all the places they take you are extremely crowded with tourists. Having a private driver means you can customize the trip to your liking and the driver can be flexible.
Chop chop was a fantastic tour guide. He got us in and out of everything efficiently and was very informative about all of the things we should know.
Enjoyed the camel ride and walking the winding steeets of all the parts of Tangiers.
Was on 15 person van rather than private car. Pretty good trip. No A/C. Took us everywhere listed in description but some did not have a stop. Guide was a little hard to understand and did not always speak into the mic, but very nice and knowledgeable. Answered most questions. Authentic Moroccan lunch was very good. Camel ride was a treat.
Wonderful experience with the Best tour guy " Chop "Chop everyone knows him in the area, he very knowledgeable and attentive. Plus this tour included the most exquisite authentic Moroccan lunch . I really recommend this tour.
Our guide and driver were fantastic and helped us create a tour that was perfect for group, including 3 kids. We enjoyed it so much we have decided it was our favorite day out of a 2 week cruise.
Great opportunity to see several areas in/around Tangier. Guide was very knowledgeable and very helpful. But you should know this is not usually a private experience. The van carries 16-18 people so clearly they know they are going to have more than just you and your group on the tour. That being said, it was still a good value and I would recommend it.
I hesitated before writing this review because I understand that people’s livelihoods depend on tourism, and there were certainly positive aspects to this experience. The city was beautiful, lunch was delicious, and we enjoyed the camel ride. Our guide, Chop Chop, was a lovely gentleman and did his best with the group.
However, this tour was advertised as a private tour, and it was not private. A few days before our arrival, the owner, Nabil, contacted us via WhatsApp to explain that the tour would not be private because a cruise ship was in town. Since I was not expecting a call from an international number, I initially assumed it was spam and did not answer.
Unfortunately, what we received was a large group tour of approximately 18 people. That was a significant disappointment because the private nature of the tour was a major reason we booked it. There was no audio assistance, the bus audio system was not working, and as a result it was often difficult to hear the guide.
We had also hoped for more historical and cultural information. While the guide was pleasant, there was relatively little commentary, so we learned much less than we expected from a private guided experience.
The cave visit was another disappointment. It was extremely crowded, felt very commercialized, and was one of the least enjoyable parts of the day.
Overall, there were enjoyable elements to the tour, but the experience did not match the private tour that was advertised and booked. Had the listing accurately described this as a large group excursion, we likely would have chosen a different option.
Response from Host, Jun 2026
Hi!
I'm sorry but but when we talk on the phone and I said the tour will not be private and I will do discount for you then you shouldn't agree.
Nice overview of Tangier in a limited time. Great to see camels! Old Tangier was a nice stroll through history. Lots of cats:). The food was delicious!
Our guide was very knowledgeable and did an excellent job, spending just enough time explaining each site/location while keeping the small group moving along.
I booked a private tour and paid for a private tour on the Viator website. Immediately after I booked I started getting phone calls and text from the operator to say this was NOT possible to be a private tour and there would be a total of 7 people on the tour. I reluctantly agreed and then it turned out to be 10 people. We were told the tour started at 9:00am - we were on time but were delayed by more than 45 minutes as they were trying to locate the last 2 people who didn't; know where to meet. I was concerned about this exact thing happening in Tangier from other posts and blogs I've read about the bait and switch. We were taken to a few very touristy places that I would have skipped but were part of the tour. The best part was the Kasba and the Medina but then we were marched over to a local pharmacy where we all sat for more than 25 minutes listening to the "guy" tell us all about Moroccan Aragon oil and other herbs he was selling. This seemed a bit much to be honest. Then we finally went to lunch at a place that the tour operator made is sound like they would pay for our lunch which they did not. Ok - we never got our food after waiting 45 minutes and then the group was ready to go - it was a mess and evidently the restaurant was overwhelmed and gave our food to another table. Ok fine, we next go to another planned stop at a souvenir shop that no one really wanted to go to. All to go back on the van to the cruise port. We were very excited about the day and did enjoy a few parts but I would be sure you understand what you are paying for, where you are going and what you will be doing before you sign up with this tour operator. Very disappointing. We have used Viator in the past and have had very good experiences full of value for the money. This was not one of them. We were in Tangier on a cruise port stop on May 18, 2026.
Response from Host, May 2026
First of you are liar
Not only liar a biiig liar
We talk on the phone and you agree to join my group then you asked me to pay for your lunch and we did but the restaurant was full cuz cruise has 3000 people and your meal was late 15 minutes then gets angry like baby
And you asked for refund this is not fair then you posted bad review and trying to hurt our business
Anyway you get what you deserve
This was a good way to see Tangier. The vehicle was very comfortable, the guide “Chop Chop” was knowledgeable, and very personable.
Booked this as a "4 Hour Private Luxury Experience of Tangier"
through Viator on May 19, 2026, for our family of 4. The reality
was far from "private" or "luxury":
• We were placed into a group tour with 10+ other tourists
• The guide skipped multiple stops listed in the official itinerary
• The "luxury" experience felt like a discount group shuttle
The booking page clearly used the word "PRIVATE" in the product
title, which is what justified the premium price. Receiving a group tour instead is a clear misrepresentation.
Filing complaints with Viator, BBB, and Amex. Travelers, please book directly with reputable local operators in Tangier — you'll
get a real private experience for less money.
⭐ 1/5
Response from Host, May 2026
Thank you for your feedback. We’re sorry to hear the experience did not fully meet your expectations. We always strive to provide the best possible service and take all comments seriously. Your feedback helps us improve, and we appreciate you sharing your experience.
Next time take you private 😉
It was a con job. Not private unless you call a bus with 18 seats private. Did not get what we paid for and from now on will not use your company for any future tours.
Response from Host, May 2026
We sincerely apologize that your experience was not as expected. Our goal is always to create memorable and enjoyable experiences for every guest. We appreciate your honest feedback and will review your comments carefully with our team.
Next will take you private 😉
Chop Chop and Nordin were our guide and driver respectively. They were both patient and attentive! Chop Chop understood what we needed and was always attentive to our needs and took great consideration in planning our routes because I had knee pain and couldn’t walk too many steps nor too long. We enjoyed the sights since these were the main reasons for us signing on for the package but we definitely recommend the guide and the driver!
Response from Host, May 2026
Thank you so much for your beautiful review always happy to have you here
Great tour of all big spots lunch not included but cheap and wonderful where we stopped
Camel ride by beach awesome
Wish had been more time for souvenir shopping and not so much spent in spice store
Chop chop tour guide awesome
When we booked the private tour, the owner was great. He was in regular contact with me up to the day before the tour. He was very helpful, flexible, and wanted to make sure we had a great tour. The day of the tour, he was a little hard to reach and not as friendly. After some confusion, we finally met up with our guide, Chop Chop. He was very knowledgeable, funny, and flexible. We picked the tour because a friend of mine who is from Morocco said this tour took us to all of the best places, and all of the admissions were included, except the Caves of Hercules. Plus, the owner and Chop Chop said that they were flexible. However, at the first stop our guide said admissions were not included. After I showed him the 8 stop tour itinerary, he agreed to pay the admission. As we continued through the tour, we had to keep referring to the itinerary to make sure the guide was taking us to all of the right places. At one point, we asked the guide if we had time to get some authentic Moroccan cuisine. We were a little concerned because it was getting late. He assured us that it as not a problem and took us to a wonderful restaurant with some amazing Moroccan dishes. When we were leaving the restaurant, the tour owner called the guide and asked to speak to me. The owner started berating me about the tour taking too long. He told me we had booked a 4 to 5 hour tour and it had already been 5 hours and we had two more places to see. He said we took too long at the Cap, Caves of Hercules, and lunch. I told him that the guide said it was not a problem. He said we had 30 minutes to finish the tour, so we rush through the last two places. While the guide was very personable and knowledgeable, he did not seem to have a solid understanding of the tour itinerary and details. In the end, the cap, caves, camel ride and lunch were great. The rest of was not so great, especially after the owner’s phone call. If the company and guide really follow the published itinerary and communicated better regarding the time, then this would be a fantastic tour.
Response from Host, May 2026
Hello
Next time try to book full day
Not 4 hours and try to take advantage of us
The cap spartel museum was not included and you forced my tour guide to pay for it
Mohamed was a great tour guy! He showed us so much plus a few quick extras as he is well known and loved in the area. The camel ride was a big highlight for me. The communication with Nigel was excellent and it was an easy pick up/drop off from the ship. The driver had excellent driving/parking skills throughout the tour. Highly recommend!
Response from Host, May 2026
Hello!
Thank you so much for your great review
Mohammed was a great tour guide. Funny, informative and kept the day moving at a great pace. The tour was supposed to be 4 hours but because we had a larger group, it ended up being closer to 7 hours and still felt smooth and enjoyable.
The bus was comfortable and easy to get on and off throughout the day. We saw a lot in one trip including the mosque, incredible ocean views, the famous park, Hercules Caves, the Medina and even a snake charmer. The camel ride on the beach was a lot of fun. We also got to see spots connected to scenes from Bourne Identity and James Bond movies, which was really cool.
The restaurant choice was excellent too. The chicken tagine was delicious. Great way to experience Tangier in one day.
From
-6%
$86.72
per personWas $91.82
up to 24 hours before the experience starts (local time)
Compare Similar Experiences
Current
Special Offer

4 Hour private luxury Experience of Tangier
428
4 hours
Free Cancellation
From
$91.82
$86.72
Customers Who Bought This Tour Also Bought
Explore Similar Things to Do
Attractions in Tangier, Morocco
More attractions near Tangier, Morocco























